Reviews



Lovely stay again, my third visit to the Brookside - Rating 5/5

Spotlessly clean room, en-suite facilities. Staff pleasant, friendly and helpful. Food good and plentiful. Staff have knowledge of local transport, willingly book tickets for attractions. Pleasant indoor and outdoor seating areas.

Reviewer:Pat A | Mon 24th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


Perfect weekend stay - Rating 5/5

We came here as a family , one room for us and one for granny and teenage daughter.We asked for a room with the least stairs for granny as she has mobility problems and were really happy that she was on the ground floor . Lovely twin room with nice shower/ wc room .We had a 4 poster room , really comfy bed and cosy room .Staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming , breakfast was fantastic with vegan options offered with no problem.Really comfy , cosy and homely hotel with lovely seating areas downstairs, nice outside area with seating too .Couldn’t fault anything , recommend to anyone visiting Chester!

Reviewer:a | Fri 21st Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


A wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Staff were very friendly and made our visit memorable. The food was amazing, our Beef Casserole, cooked for us by the Chef was absolutely lovely. We will be back.

Reviewer:Elaine M | Tue 18th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


Travelled with family - Rating 5/5

The staff where very helpful polite and friendly the room was clean and tidy the breakfast was very nice a lovely bar with reasonable prices and a stones throw from the town centre all together a great weekend.We will definitely visit again and would strongly recommend the Brookside Hotel

Reviewer:Paul P | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


Lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

Lovely comfortable hotel, efficient and friendly staff.Decent off-street parking. Ten-minute walk from town. Would definitely stay again

Reviewer:Tony O | Sat 15th Jun 2019 | 9 months ago


Visiting with not so young children - Rating 5/5

Another trip to visit daughter who's a student at Chester Uni.Extremely welcoming hotel staff, lovely facilities and all in all a very enjoyable experience.

Reviewer:Ms. Elizabeth B | Tue 17th Feb 2015 | 5 years ago


Great weekend! - Rating 5/5

We were made to feel welcome from the very moment we booked.The staff couldn't have been more helpful.The 1, 2 or 3 course dinner was great value for money.It all made for a great weekend

Reviewer:Mr. Trevor C | Mon 9th Feb 2015 | 5 years ago


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

The staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are nice and clean and accommodating with good facilities. The breakfast was very nice and they were more than happy to facilitate with a gluten free breakfast. I would happily recommend this hotel and would certainly stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Shaun C | Sun 8th Feb 2015 | 5 years ago


Great stay! - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Brookside Hotel for one evening while visiting the University of Chester. We had a wonderful time, the rooms are exquisite, and the breakfast was delicious. I will definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sarah S | Thu 5th Feb 2015 | 5 years ago


Fantastic Hotel - Rating 5/5

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel many times, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Chester. This hotel is clean, comfortable and has friendly staff. The food is also lovely - no faults. We will return!

Reviewer:Mr. Paddy M | Thu 8th Jan 2015 | 5 years ago


Perfect Stay - Rating 5/5

We have stayed here before &because we had such a great break we came back.The staff are very friendly and made us very welcome.The room was lovely &very clean.The food was fabulous.Would recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Jackie R | Mon 15th Dec 2014 | 5 years ago


Christmas market weekend - Rating 5/5

been before and will use again. perfect location, good breakfast, clean rooms, great staff, good value

Reviewer:Mr. Martin B | Sun 7th Dec 2014 | 5 years ago


Very enjoyable 3 night break - Rating 5/5

Lovely clean hotel where the staff are really friendly.Beds were very comfortable, plenty of choice for breakfast. Only a 10 min walk from the beautiful city of chester where there are plenty of eating places.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sally P | Tue 25th Nov 2014 | 5 years ago


Visiting- Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights and we really enjoyed it, our room was lovely, everyone was very friendly and the breakfast was delicious. We were given a map on arrival with lots of useful information on the back, very helpful.We will definitely be staying again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Monica B | Tue 11th Nov 2014 | 5 years ago


great little hotel - Rating 5/5

Great hotel. Very clean. Really nice cooked breakfast, if a little small. Would definitely recommend and stay again

Reviewer:Mr. Barrie J | Tue 7th Oct 2014 | 5 years ago


What a nice hotel ! - Rating 5/5

We chose the hotel, because it was right around the corner to my partners daughters new home. Our room was extremly cosy and well decorated. We had a very good time, enjoyed our visit a lot &will definitely choose Brookside hotel again if we will come back.

Reviewer:Mrs. Anette W | Wed 1st Oct 2014 | 5 years ago


Highly Reccommended - Rating 5/5

I only stayed 1 night at the Brookside Hotel but from my arrival I knew it was going to be good. A very warm welcome from friendly &helpful staff is always a good start. The room was comfortable with a good shower &loads of clean white towels. Lot's of choice for breakfast, tasty, well prepared and presented. The hotel is very good but it is the staff who really make it special. I will be staying at the Brookside Hotel again on my next visit to Chester. Thank you Brookside.

Reviewer:Mr. John A | Fri 22nd Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


Chester sight seeing- Rating 5/5

The hotel was very nice the staff were all very helpfull the breakfast were very good only problem we had was the noise from the traffic but that can not be the hotels fault I defiantly would stop agai but ask for any back or side rooms thanks

Reviewer:Mr. Tony G | Mon 18th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


5 Star service - Rating 5/5

Spent 2 very pleasant nights at the Brookside Hotel, service was excellent in all respects, rooms comfortable, staff very pleasant and attentive. Food superb, an excellent chef. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Reviewer:Mr. David S | Tue 8th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Chester stopover - Rating 5/5

A great experience all around. Very welcoming, good secure cycle storage, great room, very nice Bar/Library area. 20 Min stroll in to the centre of Chester.Will stay again when in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew C | Tue 17th Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

A very clean hotel. Made to feel welcome.

Reviewer:Mrs. Gillian W | Mon 5th May 2014 | 5 years ago


Wonderful hotel and fabulous city - Rating 5/5

we stayed here for 2 nights on Easter weekend. Lovely accommodation, clean rooms and a superb breakfast. Would like to thank the lovely staff and reception. Would not hesitate staying here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Howard B | Sun 20th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

This hotel was wonderful. I stayed one night visiting the area. The staff were incredibly helpful and attentive, I was supplied with my breakfast quickly, my room was clean and comfy although possibly the edges of the carpet needed doing. When I asked at the desk for help with travel they rang the bus company for me to find times and prices. I had absolutely no complaints. Everyone seemed cheerful and delighted with the service they received. I would certainly recommend this to a friend. My only regret is that I did not get to try out the comfy looking lounge downstairs!

Reviewer:Miss. Helen N | Fri 4th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Friendly, welcoming hotel, we had a enjoyable and relaxing one night stay with a clean comfortable room.

Reviewer:Mrs. Gill A | Sat 29th Mar 2014 | 6 years ago


EXCELLENT - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay!!! Free upgrade aswel, no doubt I will be there for another visit soon. Thanks guys.

Reviewer:Mr. Marc J | Thu 20th Mar 2014 | 6 years ago


Excellent!- Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel very close to the city centre, rooms nicely decorated and really cosy. The most comfortable bedding ever - just trying to find something similar for my own bed :) friendly and helpful staff and hearty breakfast. All for a reasonable price. Will definitely go back again.

Reviewer:Miss. Magda I | Thu 6th Mar 2014 | 6 years ago


what a hidden little gem- Rating 5/5

we stayed here for 2 nights, it was fantastic.The moment we checked in we were made to feel welcome. Anna was very helpful, and polite, breakfast was amazing all the staff very attentive. will def stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen C | Sun 23rd Feb 2014 | 6 years ago


Amazing Brookie - Rating 5/5

I ve never had such a warm and friendly reception at an hotel as the staff at the Brookside Hotel, they treat you like their family!truly amazing and everything was just fab, the food, hospitality, rooms all great.Thank you so much for making our stay at Chester just perfect.Defo coming back!

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda L | Mon 3rd Feb 2014 | 6 years ago


Brookside Hotel - Rating 5/5

Lovely comfortable hotel with staff who were welcoming, warm and extremely helpful. Ideally located for city centre and beyond.Room was well presented and of high standard, although Room No.1 might be a little 'cosy' for two people!

Reviewer:Mrs. J N | Mon 3rd Feb 2014 | 6 years ago


Another great stay - Rating 5/5

This is the third time we've stayed at the Brookside - and the quickest, as we were over from East Anglia for a funeral and were in the area for less than 24 hours! As usual, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was comfortable and well-equipped. I only wish we'd been able to stay for dinner again!

Reviewer:Mr. Ian H | Tue 19th Nov 2013 | 6 years ago


great stay - Rating 5/5

lovely hotel ,stayed over for a shopping trip,is within easy walking distance of city centre about 5-10 mins.lovely comfy bed and cot provided for grandson,our room was classed as a small double but was quite spacious all the staff were lovely and really helpful and the breakfast was scrummy would definatley stay again very reasonably priced too.

Reviewer:Mrs. Angela F | Fri 1st Nov 2013 | 6 years ago


Lovely Hotel & Staff - Rating 5/5

The Brookside Hotel is a lovely hotel, run by great staff. Richard, Madelaine and Lois made our stay very special and memorable. The customer service is excellent and we were made to feel valued as customers. We ate at the hotel for 2 nights of our 3 night stay and I would highly recommend their restaurant. Sal is a great chef and all the food is of good quality. The hotel has so much character and charm, and is decorated and in keeping with the building, which is great to see. Good quality bedding and towels were provided and the bathrooms are modern, bright and of a good size. Overall, a great place to stay when visiting Chester and it is only a 10 minute walk into the town centre.

Reviewer:Mr. Neil P | Wed 25th Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


Brilliant as always - Rating 5/5

I am a regular customer at this hotel, and I am happy to say that the service here is always excellent, exceeds all expectations, and like one of the other customers here at the hotel said, they only employ nice people.

Reviewer:Miss. Odette G | Sat 14th Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Very nice, excellent service

Reviewer:Mr. Christine B | Tue 27th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


Chester Weekend - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay at your Hotel. The room exceeded our expectations and the breakfast's were lovely. I especially liked the small seating areas around the bar. Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Angela W | Mon 29th Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


Most enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

Our first visit to Brookside hotel but not our last.Very friendly efficient staff, lovely food and very nice room... most impressed with lounges and bar areas too.Recommended!

Reviewer:Mr. Keith M | Tue 9th Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


Lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel and quite room. Very relaxing and such helpful staff. A great choice of options at breakfast.

Reviewer:Mrs. Margaret Q | Wed 26th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


Excellent value - Rating 5/5

The hotel offers superb value

Reviewer:Mr. David W | Thu 23rd May 2013 | 6 years ago


excellent- Rating 5/5

Staff were so friendly and catered to any request I had, would recommend this to anyone and I will be staying again.

Reviewer:Miss. MeabhdhH | Thu 18th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


great reveiw - Rating 5/5

excellent hotel,friendly peoplea little gem, will stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Colin W | Sun 14th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


To be recommended - Rating 5/5

A fine and friendly hotel which certainly is to be recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Cornelis V | Fri 12th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at this hotel.Room was very comfy and the food was excellent.Staff were friendly and very helpful. Would certainly stop here again.Top marks

Reviewer:Mr. Michael B | Mon 8th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


fun in chester - Rating 5/5

Great hotel friendly staff, very comfortable, nice walk to the town only about ten minutes, will be going again.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher W | Fri 23rd Nov 2012 | 7 years ago


Memorable stay - Rating 5/5

We found the Brookside Hotel provided very goodvalue, excellent food and very friendly staff who went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. We would certainly intend to return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Margaret S | Thu 25th Oct 2012 | 7 years ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our few days last week in your beautiful city. Would recommend this hotel to any friends travelling to Chester. Helpful and friendly staff.

Reviewer:Mrs. Letitia H | Wed 3rd Oct 2012 | 7 years ago


great week-end - Rating 5/5

would definately recommend to friends and family, and hope to stay again before christmas.

Reviewer:Mrs. Joan M | Fri 3rd Aug 2012 | 7 years ago


Lovely Weekend- Rating 5/5

Stayed here for 2 nights with my husband on a family visit in Chester - impressed with the friendly, efficient staff, the well equipped room and fabulous breakfast! We usually stay in the Travel Lodge in Chester but will definitely stay here again - just a short walk into town and a very homely feel!

Reviewer:Mrs. Eleanor W | Mon 30th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


bit of a gem! - Rating 5/5

We came to spend my birthday in Chester and had a really nice stay.Did not have breakfast (I wanted to sleep in!) so cannot comment but we really enjoyed the stay, the room was comfortable, great power shower, service was excellent and the bar was well stocked and comfortable and of course I liked the resident cat!Thank you! (I suppose I have had to select mature couple as I am 40!)

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne Louise B | Thu 12th Apr 2012 | 7 years ago


Lovely! - Rating 5/5

Great hotel - near enough to the city to walk in - takes about 10 minutes, but quiet on a night.Cosy room (even in February with minus temperatures outside), comfy bed, flat screen TV, tea and coffee (and hot chocolate!), good en-suite.Staff are helpful and friendly, food was everything we could hope for - and all at a great price.We will be back!

Reviewer:Mrs. Wendy L | Thu 9th Feb 2012 | 8 years ago


Positive - Rating 5/5

Have stayed here a considerable number of times and have never had any problems. Staff are always helpful, cheerful and attentive. Always relaxing staying just out of the hustle &bustle of the centre.

Reviewer:Mr. John J | Tue 20th Dec 2011 | 8 years ago


Brookside Hotel - Rating 5/5

We found the Hotel very clean warm and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpfull, we had an enjoyable stay the decor was unusual and the hotel had character. The evening meal we had on the Friday night was excellent the Breakfast whilst good could have done with more of a selection of items. we would recommend this Hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Chester.

Reviewer:Mrs. Janet T | Mon 12th Dec 2011 | 8 years ago


Friendly Hotel, Ideal for Chester Town Centre - Rating 5/5

Spent 3 nights at this hotel end of November 2011 and were very satisfied with it. We were upgraded on arrival from a standard double room to a '4 Poster' Room. The rooms were clean, warm and comfortable. The Bathroom was a little small and the wash basin was therefore in the bedroom. Maybe dispense with the bath for this room, replace with a shower cubicle and move the basin into the bathroom.The meals were very good. Breakfast was sufficient (although I do personally like mushrooms with a full English). Evening meals were of a very good quality and reasonably priced.The Staff were friendly, very helpful and attentive. We were made to feel at home from the moment we arrived. Would definitely consider using the facilities of this hotel again

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen T | Fri 2nd Dec 2011 | 8 years ago


My stay - Rating 5/5

Great hotel, nicely decorated comfortable quiet room, helpful friendly service and good food (evening meal &breakfast).

Reviewer:Mr. Mark R | Mon 14th Nov 2011 | 8 years ago


a great hotel - Rating 5/5

wow what a hotel.stayed here three nights 16th-19th oct.if you need a hotel in chester,this is the only one you need to book.great staff lovely food,the curry was out of this world.10 minute walk in to city centre,15 to train station fab location.bar prices well priced.i am going to tell all my friends to go here if in chester.a great hotel am going to book up again nextyear.thank you very much for lovely break.brookie the cat made it as well thanks again

Reviewer:Mr. Paul D | Thu 20th Oct 2011 | 8 years ago